Perceptions

First I want to say Happy Memorial Day and thank you to all those who served our great country. Your courage and heroism is greatly appreciated. May your memory be forever.

For the first time today I grilled as a married man on Memorial Day. This is part of the American Dream.

20140526-193104-70264662.jpg
Pretty awesome right?! It’s charcoal (no propane fumes please) and it’s the dream of every man to be outside feeling the heat of the fire. The flame burning as the meat from delicious fleshy animals cooks to that perfect taste with just a hint of pink. The bigger the grill the better…right?

Well to be honest, this was my grilling experience

20140526-194328-71008367.jpg

My little tiny 14″ charcoal grill.

I created a perception.

We create perceptions all of the time.

We create these facades in our lives that everything is just fine.

We are screaming for help on the inside.

We place Instagram filters on real life situations and hashtag them to receive approval.

But Christ sees something better in us. He looks past our filters, our angles, our head shots to look at the core of us. Lost people looking for that thing that fills and satisfies our soul. Something only Christ can provide.

Author: Matt J

I am a Jesus-follower. Husband. Father of three. Seminary student. Writer. I enjoy coffee & tea & gardening.

One thought on “Perceptions”

Leave a comment